image with the sign of the Greek Church

Main Page | The Archbishop | News | Solidarity
The Library | Chanting | Technical Support | Contact

The Church of Greece
  • The Permanent Holy Synod
  • Metropolises


On 29th June of 1850 the Patriarchal Synod issued the Synodic Volume, through which the Greek Ecclesiastical Provinces of the Ecumenical Patriarchate were proclaimed the Self-Governed Church of Greece.

Its supreme ecclesiastical authority is the Holy Synod of the Church of Greece.

President of the Holy Synod is the Archbishop of Athens and all Greece.

More on:

Stages in the Historical Course of the Greek Church

The Formation of the Hellenic Christian Mind
The Historical Development of Greek Orthodoxy

Visit Our Myriobiblos On Line Library